×
Filtering…
Sit tight, beautiful things
are worth the wait!

60 reviews

Share your experience with this product
3.85 out of 5
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Jaleesa
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Dry
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 18

Really just a pain, waste of money

I don't like leaving bad reviews but honestly this product was a waste of money. It's too sticky, barely spreadable and almost IMPOSSIBLE to get out of the tube. After trying for almost 10 minutes to get it out, I had to cut the tube and transfer the product to another container. I continued to try and use it for a week but it really doesn't work well at all. It dries too quickly to work with, its too thick to spread and it makes eye shadow look thick and clumpy.

22 days ago
Dianne
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 24

Bad

Maybe I got a bad batch one, but I hated the packaging of this primer. It's so hard to squeeze any product out from the tube, I literally needed to use two hands with effort to push out its content. The formula is too dry and does not improve any eye look, it also does not make my eyeshadow last longer. Save your money because any drugstore concealer used as an eye primer will work better than this.

about 1 month ago
Christine
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Dry
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 31

So-so primer

This was an okay kind of eyeshadow primer for me. It's a bit sticky on the skin and not that easy to apply. Good thing I got this at a discounted price because the tube also contains just a little amount of primer. It was mostly air inside so maybe that's why it also dried out easily.

2 months ago
Elize
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 17

It was half empty

I searched for eye primers that would fit in with my budget and this is what I saw. The ratings and reviews seem promising, so I ordered one. When I received the product, probably half of it was just air. It was hard to squeeze as well. When I applied some on my eyelid, I noticed that it was sticky. I didn't like how sticky it felt, so I wiped it off with makeup remover; the sticky feeling was still there.

2 months ago
Dominique
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 24

It takes time and mastery

I bought Skin Tone and I’ve used it 3-4x already. This is my first eyeshadow primer and I really have nothing to compare it with. I did notice however that over a period of time, it gets a bit hard to squeeze out of the tube. It’s also a little hard to apply.

2 months ago
Angelica
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 28

Sticky and formed clumps 😣

Not bad for the price. This makes my eyeshadow lasts longer upon first use. I was satisfied at first. However, the next time i tried to use it, I had a hard time pressing out the product from the narrow opening of the tube. It was sticky that it also formed clumps into my eyelids. I think the product becomes stickier if you don't frequently used it. This is the first eyeshadow primer I tried so I cannot compare other product to this. Hopefully I can try other affordable eyeshadow primers that could meet my expectations☺

3 months ago
Ana
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 22

Marvelous Primer But Nightmarish Tube

The tube is a nightmare to squeeze out product of. I was so close to giving up until I thought of taking action. I had to cut off the tip of the tube, right after the neck so I could still screw back the top on. Then I pulled out the little plastic part that controls the amount of product I get, so the opening is a lot wider. I finally got to squeeze out the primer. I'm keeping it in an airtight bag to further prevent it from drying up because of its consistency. It's tacky and a little goes a long way. Using too much can make the primer ball up. I got the silky white color and it comes off clear on my eyelids. I primarily bought this to keep my gel liner in place since I don't use a lot of eyeshadow. It did the trick and I'm happy to make the purchase. I hope there will be changes to the packaging soon.

3 months ago
Ariane
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 19

EYESHADOW PRIMER THAT WORKS WELL ❤

I've been into make-up lately and good thing i found this cheap but effective eye primer ❤ As a starter, I was looking for an affordable eye primer that would fit my budget and it was then I found this on this site. I was little hesitant to purchase this because unlike most of the same products, it was cheaper so I thought maybe the quality isn't as great as those. But when I checked the reviews, everyone has been hyping up about using this. And it was absolutely a great decision purchasing this! It was not cakey and it really did make my eyeshadow popped out! One thing I didn't like about this primer is that it is hard to squeeze out. Over-all, I like everything.

3 months ago
Persephone
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 25

small but powerful

I bought this because I was looking for a cheap eye primer that's not going to hurt my budget and this was such a great steal. It really worked! I tried it on after it arrived and I only had to use like a dot of the product. It made my eye shadow last for hours. Even when I smudged my shadows a bit after some time, product stayed on my lids. The tube was smaller than I expected but it makes it good for travel. I would buy again.

4 months ago
Libs
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 30

3 stars

I bought the product wayback November 2017. It is tacky / sticky. It does intensify the color of an eyeshadow but I don’t like the feel of it on my eyelid. Its hard to blend eyeshadow when using this as an eyeshadow primer. It is cheap though for its price but you’ll only get a small tube. I’m comparing this to a drug store primer under Essence brand. The latter brand works better than this.

4 months ago
Ken
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type on
  • Skin Tone on
  • Facial Features on
  • Age 32

Its ok

Pressing the product out is very difficult, i feel like i made a bad decision of buying this, i have to cut half of its mouth in order for the producr to come out, i was also shock how thick the product is, it is also hard to blend. But when i apply the eye shadow wow it works the eye shadow stick, less fall out and the eyeshadow it became more vabriant and i suggest one shadow only for this primer.

4 months ago
Maria
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 34

Bought Two.

For a primer it is very affordable. I bought eyeshadow primers before that are two to three times higher than its price. It does keep your eyeshadow last for almost the whole day. You just have to apply a little bit on your lid. I use the silky white variation to make the colors pop and the skin tone if i want a softer color.

4 months ago
Andrea
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 20

A so-so product

This is really the only product I’ve tried from Detail that I’m dissapointed in. It isn’t easy or smooth to glide on the lid like my previous lid primers but it’s good enough in intensifying the colors of my eyeshadows and it stays on long. It doesn’t have a poor performance and it’s good enough that it lives up to its purpose but not a total dupe for more expensive lid primers.

5 months ago
Sofia
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 29

This stuff is the bomb!

I have always been an eyeshadow primer snob until I tried Urban Decay and realized that it takes my eyeshadow game to another level. I have oily lids and didn't want to spend too much on buying UD so I tried searching for a dupe and heard about this stuff! Wanted to try it for at least three times before I write a review. And I gotta tell yeah, my eyeshadow stayed glued to my eyelids the whole day. A little goes a looooong way so proceed with caution. Props to Detail for nailing a product like this.

5 months ago
LJ
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 22

Wonderful eye primer!

Got mine in the shade Silky white. Since then, I am not used in putting eyeshadow primer before making my eyeshadow look. But then Ive heard that eyeshadows will even last longer when using a primer and that the colors would be really define and highlighted as well. One of the cheapest eyeshadow primers in town. Space friendly as well, on the go make up prep on a tube.

5 months ago
Dane
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 22

glue would have been better

i have no idea what the other reviewers eyelids are made of. maybe i got a bad batch or it dried already but it really feels like glue on the eyes. when its on its so hard to blend your eyeshadows... i threw mine away after using it only 2 times because its just so bad. tacky. sticky. hard to blend. doesnt make your shadow stay after 10 hours. save your coints and buy the essence eye primer instead. its cheaper.

5 months ago
Renalyn
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 26

Too thick and hard to blend

I was overwhelmed (in a bad way) when I used this product. I don't know if I just got a bad batch or what. the one that I got felt really heavy, thick, stiff, and really difficult to blend and it is quite hard to dispense from the tube even when the inside cap was already removed. My lid felt heavy and looked pasty.

5 months ago
Princess
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 20

So far so good

I've used this for about two months and it works well for me. A bit hard to manage since it's sticky but this might be the nature of eye primers in general (this is my first primer). I have very oily face so eyeshadows don't usually stay until the end of ths day unless I use this. Will still keep it though since it does what it should.

6 months ago
Sharon
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 39

makes a difference in eye make up

it's my first time to use a primer that's specific to the eye area and i really noticed it makes a difference in terms of vibrancy of makeup shadows and its staying power. a little amount of the product goes a long way too so it is really a bargain at this price. you know what? i even like to use it for no makeup look. it brightens my eye area which improves my overall appearance.

6 months ago
Juana
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 23

What a steal! ♥

This eye shadow primer is really thick in formula. You should blend it as you apply it because it will set and will be harder to blend if it sat long on your lids. Then set it with a skintone colored powder and apply shadows on top of it. This works great with either mattes, shimmers or chunky glitters!! Made my oily lids less oily and held my eye look for hours longer!

6 months ago