×
Reviews by
Filtering…
Sit tight, beautiful things
are worth the wait!

22 reviews

Share your experience with this product
4.7 out of 5
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Abigail
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 26

It’s matte but not long lasting

Been wanting to try products from The Balm for ages cuz I love their marketing, I think it’s all so cute. When this went on sale (+b1t1) I knew I had to go for it even if the price is a bit heavier than I usually spend for lippie. I got my surprise variant which isn’t the color I usually go for but it grew on me. The pros of this formula are it’s super lightweight, doesn’t dry out even though it’s very matte, and it smells amazing. Cons I found that it wasn’t long lasting like it claimed, which is kind of disappointing. Half of it would come off no matter what I ate. So if you’re looking for super stay, maybe consider something else.

20 days ago
Racquel
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 28

My fave lippie

Meet Matt(e) Hughes is one of my fave lippies of all time. This was the first ever lippie that i bought. I got it at beauty bar. And was able to hoard these during the Beautymnl's B1T1 sale last month. It has a minty taste so it cools your lips when applied. Thus feels fresh. And it is kind of long lasting for a matte lip stick. Though quite pricey, it is worth the price. 💋

27 days ago
Lesley
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 27

Best Liquid lipstick so far!

My Favorite liquid lippies!! Not only it's very pigmented but also not drying on the lips. It also have this minty flavor like taste when you put it on your mouth. Though it seems to be nude-color like for me, I still like it. For the price it is a little bit of pricey, but hey! for your precious lips it is worth it. Highly recommended girlies!♡

29 days ago
Patrizia
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 28

Cute shade!

I don’t really put lipstick on because my lips tend to dry. But I’m glad I found this because it doesn’t dry my lips at all. Also, the shade is beautiful! I wore this on the wedding of my friend and it lasted all day! I’d definitely wear this on all the upcoming special events!

3 months ago
Marydel
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 32

it's okay

I bought this just because I'm curious of its good reviews. I got the shade Committed, I actually like the color. It's like a dusty rose pink, can serve as a nude lippie for some, and a good MLBB shade. I also like the minty smell, you can't get past it. It's addicting and refreshing. I don't really like the formula because I find it drying. Yes, I know that it's matte, but there are other brands that aren't too drying like this one, hence the 4 stars.

3 months ago
Therese
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 22

So worth it!

First things first, I am in LOVE with this lippie. Before I was still doubting whether this would be a good purchase considering the price, but thank the heavens I went with it because I found a matte lipstick that's long lasting, not heavy, and non drying. It stays budge-proof + smudge-proof for several hours even when you eat a meal---no flaking, no crumbling. Though when you eat oily food, it can transfer a tiny bit, but that happens in any matte lipstick. (It goes without saying that for matte formulas exfoliation is recommended and if you'll apply a balm, make sure it's just a thin layer as it could affect the lipstick's performance.) All in all, this lipstick is amazing, definitely a worthy purchase!

4 months ago
Emma
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza

Must Have Matte! 💄

You'll never go wrong with Meet Matt(e) Hughes from its packaging to its formula. The shade I got was Reliable, it has a minty chocolatey scent which makes me enjoy every application. The shade is a nude brown with a hint of brick. The formula never dried my lips, it really lasts long, and the powder finish is so adorable! Perfect for all day wear. This lippie could be a little pricey compared to other matte liquid lipsticks out there, but I could say it's worth it!

4 months ago
Sharlyn
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita

Romantic

Another beautiful red lippie for you guys! This is thebalm’s Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipstick in the shade Romantic. It’s a beautiful berry red shade that’s deeper and more subdued than the Pinot Noir I posted yesterday. This is one of those red shade that you can easily wear on a daily basis. I love how versatile it is and goes well with any look.

I still haven’t decided on a favorite red lippie. But this one is coming pretty close. 😁

6 months ago
Kayla
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 20

love love love this!

I love this liquid lipstick. Firstly, I love the smell—like minty chocolate chip. It has a slight cooling effect when you put it on. Very opaque in color, not streaky. This lasts forever on your lips! I love that it’s a very comfortable and non-drying formula that is budge proof.

8 months ago
Marie
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer

my lips bff

My first ever matte liquid lippie that is long-wearing and did not dry out my lips. It's oh so comfortable that you'd forget that you actually have a lippie on. It feels minty on the lips, which i love, especially given how humid our weather gets. For those who dislike mint, the minty feel goes away in few minutes. This faded gracefully on my lips, (no crumbling and flaking) because i ate and drank with it.

9 months ago
Kalifa
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 19

FAVE LIPPY!!

I’ve been using this for 4 months now since I barely wear makeup during the weekdays, but I totally love this! It gives my lips a fuller volume making it plump. This is my fave type of matte since it makes my lips look more plumpish and also gives the effect of a fierce look!

9 months ago
Vernie
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 28

Vhern

Lippie has a minty taste. But its not a long lasting lipstick. Also, the color is too light for me. However, perfect for office vibes and simple day- to- day look. Compared with other matte liquid lipstick, this one is easy to remove with the use of Make up remover.

11 months ago
bey
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 23

So cool!

I've had this for almost two years now. This was my first ever liquid lipstick. It got me hooked into buying and trying out other formulas. This has a plumping and cooling effect because of the peppermint extracts that it possesses. Love this and I have the shade honest btw

about 1 year ago
Kristine
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena

The Balm rocks

I love this lipstick ( I may have chosen the wrong shade though but that’s okay). It lasts a long time and i love the minty feel when i put it on. The shades are beautiful, although they’re lighter in person than what’s seen in the photos (maybe it’s the lighting). Not a fan of matte lipsticks but this just might make me change my mind.

about 1 year ago
Bernadine
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 26

Meet Matt(e) Hughes Love!!!

One of my favorite matte lippie brands/ variant! I have this in full size of Charming and Committed which are 2 of my favorite shades and I also bought the mini set which is perfect for traveling. The pigment is really there and this doesn't dry your lips at all! In fact it moisturizes your lips and even have that minty feeling upon application. Truly one of the best!

about 1 year ago
Elaine
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 21

I just can't stop loving Matt(e) Hughes!

I have this in the shade Charming and the very moment it touched my lips, I knew it was a match made in heaven! I have always been wary of using liquid lipsticks per previous experiences with them did not go well and left me brokenhearted. But then - I met Matt(e) Hughes. Angels started singing. Light from the sun illuminated me. By then, I just knew that Hughes and I will never be separated. Hughes is so worth it, ladies! Try and you might just find the only man you'll ever need in life ;)

about 1 year ago
Stephanie
  • Age 22

BEST LIPPIE EVER!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ESP IF YOU HAVE DRY LIPS!!!

Best liquid lippie ever!!! Unlike the other matte lipsticks I've tried, this one did not dry my lips!!! I wore it to my graduation (I forgot which shade i used though) but it stayed on from 7 am- 1 pm. It still looked fresh. I also wore another shade (charming) to an event and it lasted from 8 am to 3 pm. It wore off a bit (rough est. 10-15% of it wore off?) only because I had eaten 2 meals and drank a lot of water. It's a bit pricey, yes, but I tell you that it's worth every cent!!! One of the things I like about this one is that it smells and tastes like mint!!!

about 1 year ago
Anjelina
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 22

all-time fave

I've been using this for over a year now and I have to say this is my favorite liquid lipstick. It isn't cakey when you put it on and it doesnt dry your lips too much. I usually reapply only once during the day. The color is especially nice because it suits my morena skin.

about 1 year ago
Bernadette
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 26

Committed

I have been eyeing this product (shade committed) ever since I saw CosmoByHaley (on youtube) use this. It is definitely a pretty shade although it probably suits those with fair skin. It is not the best shade for morena skin but I don't care because I just love the color so much. It has a long staying power but it is a bit drying on the lips (as most liquid lipsticks).

about 1 year ago
Lea
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 26

❤️❤️❤️ MY #1 GO-TO LIQUID LIPPIE

I have naturally dry lips and my job tends to keep me busy throughout the day even extending long hours... I absolutely love the mint-chocolate smell and the feel on my lips even after long hours. Unlike other matte lipsticks that Ive tried it doesn’t dry or chap on my lips after long wear and pigmentation is consistent throughout. Although pricier than most liquid lipsticks (if you can’t seem to decide on any shade try their mini sets!) its worth every cent!

over 1 year ago