×
Reviews by
Filtering…
Sit tight, beautiful things
are worth the wait!

39 reviews

Share your experience with this product
4.0 out of 5
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Alyssa
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Age 25

Stay Matte Elmer's Glue Primer

Yikes. To be honest, this was just an impulse buy. I wanted to incorporate a primer in my every day make-up routine so I decided why not. I was swayed by the amount of good reviews here so I did what any other impulse buyer would—add to cart. First, if you're already using a matte liquid foundation, using this primer, for me, is redundant. That's why at some point, it will get cake-y. Second, OH GOD THE SMELL! It felt like I was using Elmer's Glue as primer 😂 Lastly, there are better products out there, hun. Click the back button and browse further 😂

about 1 month ago
Nicole
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 24

Good primer!

I like how this primer is affordable and it has a decent amount as well that can last for months. The primer is white but not thick. It's easy to spread. It makes my skin smooth, ready for make up. Oil control is decent, I still get oily after 2-3 hours. No complaints cause it holds my make up even if I oil up. No break outs from this primer as well!

6 months ago
carmela
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 32

Keeps matte all day

I have used this especially in my t zone because I have an extremely oily T zone. This needs a learning curve because it balls up like some other mattifying primers I have used which I hate. My only complaint is the application but the performance is really good because it keeps me matte for good 5-6 hrs because I touch up my make up. This is a good mattfying primer.

over 1 year ago
Mikee
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena

Lightweight primer, but not as mattifying

I heard that this is a great mattifying primer and that's something I really need. It's lightweight enough and it doesn't leave a very sticky feeling. It seems to work well with my foundations, but it doesn't give me enough mattifying power. I still need to touch up with loose powder every so often.

over 1 year ago
carmela
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 32

Very mattifying

I have a combination oily skin and I am on the lookout for an affordable mattifying primer. I found this and saw great reviews ever since it was launched abroad. I would say, that if you have very oily skin, you will definitely love this. I have combination skin and it does not work great on my skin type. Sadly, as with all my high end mattifying primers I have tried, it also balls up on me every time. Even though I pat this only on my T-zone, when I apply my foundation, it mattifies instantly and emphasizes my pores and makes my face really dry looking. I have tried this with different foundation formulas, still with the same results. Too bad that this is not a good mattifying primer that suits my combination oily skin type.

over 1 year ago
Marga
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 18

Good!

Good Product! This was given to me but I don't have that oily skin so I can't review on that, but it did make my makeup last longer and made my complexion better by sinking into my pores and creases! Note: always wear something over this because it does create a white powdery cast upon drying. :)

over 1 year ago
Nicole
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 24

Good primer

It's a good primer, it does its job to create a smooth canvas for make up application but I have yet to see if it's really oil controlling and matte. So far, I still need to blot after a few hours. This product also triggered a breakout on my chin area so it's important to check the ingredients first.

over 1 year ago
Kenya
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 24

Not satisfied at all!

I normally checked the products review before buying but for this one I am really disappointed. Namumuo muo yung foundation sa mukha when using this pero subok ko na yung foundation mas matagal ko na tong gamit at medyo may amoy din ung rimmel primer amoy pandikit. Pero if u just use it to your face as a cream okey naman sya hindi nag o oily ang face ko. Pwede sya pang natural look lang at pag walang make up on!

over 1 year ago
OJ
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 41

Cheap but very effective

Very tacky and works better with foundation rather than BB cream or cushion. Make sure you moisturize very well before putting this on. I’m very oily but it still tends to dry out some of the less oily patches on my face. I find that patting this on works better than rubbing it in. Rubbing appears to add texture to my already textured cheeks. Some primers need time to set, this one needs just a few seconds.

over 1 year ago
Dannalyn
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily

Love it!

I have used several primers like Maybelline Baby Skin, Quick FX and Nyx, and so far this is the best among all of them because My face doesn't look too oily after 1 hour. It is also a great value for the money because it works like those pricey, high-end primers.

over 1 year ago
Mavi
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Age 24

My First Primer

I started loving primers two years ago because it claims oil control and so I really got curious about it and Rimmel Stay Matte Primer is my first try. It was not a regret thankfully. Yes It does its job it mattifies my face and blurs out pores after minutes of application. Although it won't make you oil free for the whole day but still I was impressed for hours of performance. This primer is not compatible if you are going to use matte foundation for it will make the product patchy, choose foundations that are not matte when using this primer. This is much better in oil control compared to Quick Fx and Maybelline Pore Erase primers.

almost 2 years ago
Gina
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 37

Left me with bumpy skin?

I've been using this for 6 days straight now and counting. The oil-control to this is fantastic! Holds up my oils for a good 4 hours. This also creates a very smooth canvas for my makeup and helps it to last longer. Pore blurring property is non-existent for me. Didn't do much for my pores. My big let down to this is that I think my forehead started to get small bumps after using this product? I'll be testing this out for the last time today and after that I'll stop using it to see if this is the culprit.. Not looking good for this primer.

almost 2 years ago
Sophia
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Dry
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 21

Oily t-zone begone!

You have to be careful with this one! Apply too much and you'll get a white cast on your face. Apply it with just the right amount and it'll become your holy grail primer! I use this on my t-zone areas and I do find that it lessens the appearance of oily skin but not totally. Some still peek through but that's easily solved with powder. This is definitely a product worth trying!

about 2 years ago
Marcy
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Chinita
  • Age 19

No Way!!!

First ever primer that I purchased and I was so shocked that this made my everyday makeup look more long lasting in my case... I never thought a primer is all I needed to keep me from oiling up... This primer is so on point I can't explain how happy I am and its true that a little goes a long way... I used to oil up about 2 hours prior to my makeup regime, now that I have been using this my makeup lasts to about 6 hours!!!

over 2 years ago
Mia
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Chinita

Good primer

It's a good primer for the price. I basically just use this on my t-zone because that's the part of my face that gets oily no matter what. It's not too oily but I still need to blot after 2 to 3 hours. At first I didn't notice any difference but then when I applied foundation without it, I noticed that my face doesn't look as smooth. So it definitely blurs out pores and makes your foundation look nicer. It doesn't irritate my skin which is good. It keeps my foundation in place but I'm not very happy with it's oil controlling properties.

over 2 years ago
Kimmy
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 16

Used up a tube!

Primers are heaven sent! This helps me stay matte all day without having to touch anything up. Sometimes I use this all by itself to control oil. When used as a primer, it keeps my foundation to last long, no matter what foundation I am using. I just love it so much. Although I'm currently trying out Innisfree

over 2 years ago
Gem
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 27

Matte All Day!

This keeps you matte all day!!! I use this especially for occasion that calls for all day full makeup so I wouldn't have to touch up every so often. It holds up pretty well I just need to blot the excess sweat and oil but foundation stays in place.

over 2 years ago
Sandy
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 22

Make up on point!

This is one of my first purchases on this site and I have no regrets! Though this doesn't totally solved my oil probelm (a combination of skin care products and routines did) this gave me a good base before applying my powder foundation. You only need a little bit and you're set! I can't even imagine wearing make-up without this!

almost 3 years ago
Alyssa
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 21

Reduces pores

I like how it reduces the size of my pores and it's consistency is silky smooth. It works great through out the day, but I still get a little shiny and nothing a little powder can't solve. Would probably work great for someone who only needs little to moderate oil control.

almost 3 years ago
vanessa
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Morena

Smooth Finish and Oil Free - Achieved!

good thing i picked the right kind for my face. *thumbs up!* if you want to look fresh longer, then this one is a guaranteed answer to your anxieties. i'm a newbie in primer but i would like to say that this product is worth the talk. less touch up, more fun! :)

almost 3 years ago