×
Reviews by
Filtering…
Sit tight, beautiful things
are worth the wait!

13 reviews

Share your experience with this product
4.6 out of 5
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Aida
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 54

Skin feels clear!

Have been using the retinol solution for over a week now and I like how it makes my skin feel. Unlike other reviews I read, it does not irritate my skin. My skin feels clear in the morning. I am starting with 1% but will switch to the 2% solution in future. I use it with the niacinamide. Value for money & a great addition to your skincare routine.

2 months ago
Amethyst
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Dry
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 27

My favorite skin care product!

I've used Glycolic Acid and Salicylic Acid chemical peels before, but in both instances, they dried up my face and my face became super sensitive to light and heat. It was painful. So I tried this 1% Retinol in Squalene and omg, I love it. It's not harsh at all and my face doesn't get all sensitive in the heat or light (still have to use sunscreen though). I look forward to my night time routine because I know this product works. It also does not make my face have obvious peels. I use this in conjuction with a non-acid serum so that it doesn't irritate my skin too much.

4 months ago
Bai
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 23

No Irritation

I accidentally typed in my review for TO’s Squalane oil here. It’s too early to give a review for this retinol variant since I’ve only been using it for a week. But I’ll give it 4 stars because I didn’t experience any irritation from this retinol product. Just make sure to space out the usage when starting out. I like to apply it AFTER moisturizer just to neutralize the strength a little bit. So far so good. :)

6 months ago
Rafael
Certified Buyer
  • Age 22

First brand of Retinol I'd recommend

One thing I love about The Ordinary products is that they have each product for every nutrient you need in its purest form. Didn't experience peeling using this 1% Retinol and it's a must have. Before applying moisturizer, wait for 20 minutes until your face completely absorbs the Retinol. Do this after your toner dries out and is always recommended to be done at night because the sun kills it.

6 months ago
ANN
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 23

Best product!

Soooo hydrating for dry skin. I tried using under makeup and it ended up making the foundation splotchy so I would recommend using this after cleansing and moisturizing at night Best product! You need to make your skin used to it by increasing the dose gradually and once you’re used to the skin becomes flawless ! I will stick to it and recommend everyone

7 months ago
Angelo
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestizo
  • Age 28

Holy Grail

At first I was so afraid in using this product. I read some reviews online recommending to start with low percentage Retinols. But I ordered the 1% because I’m hoping that it could help in resolving my acne issues. Luckily I didn’t n’t experience any bad effects the first I used it. It is now part of my evening skincare regimen.

7 months ago
JUDY
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Normal
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Morena
  • Age 23

my mom's fav

I absolutely love the products from The Ordinary, and this is no exception. I use the squalane in the mornings, and the squalane with retinol in the evening, so I get my anti-aging and my moisture for both night time and day time. It feels great, doesn't irritate at all, even though I have eczema and sensitive skin, and this is the highest level of retinol they offer in squalane. As an added fantastic bonus, the price can't be beat!

7 months ago
Xzyrille
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 24

SMOOOOTH!

I have been using this retinol for a while and love this! Since it is a lower dosage it’s not too harsh on my sensitive skin. When I first started using this product, my skin did peel for about a week but that is to be expected with this product. If used with sunscreen, this product won’t irritate my skin at all. I have noticed a difference in the texture of my skin as it feels more smooth.

7 months ago
Xzyrille
Top Reviewer
  • Skin Type Combination
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 24

game changer

This product has been a game changer for me! I have large pores in some areas on my face, I got this in hopes to see even minor improvement, and what I got was a major improvement! If you have larger pores, tend to be a bit oily, and have uneven skin tone, I would recommend this! I did not experience any of the telltale signs of retinoids use with this gentile but effective product. The Ordinary. Retinol 1% in Squalane Word to the wise though...wear this product ONLY at night! Retinoids make your skin quite sensitive to the sun.

7 months ago
Loui
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Medium
  • Facial Features Moreno

Will repurchase this product!

I was hesitant before to incorporate retinol serum in my skin care routine. Been using this product twice at week at night so I can slowly introduce retinol on my skin. So far, I did not experience any irritation on my skin and I noticed that my skin texture improved and my pores got "smaller." Will definitely repurchase this product and excited to use this on a regular basis once my skin already get used to retinol.

8 months ago
Jessica
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Sensitive
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 28

Ganda sa face kc feeling ko bagets ako laging tignan

I love the packaging and at the same time nadeliver sya agad agad. Super ganda sa face ko lalo na sensitive ang skin ko. Madali kasi ako magkapimples. But using this kind of product eh feeling ko ang ganda ganda ko. 😍😍😍 sana laging my stock para ndi laging unahan sa pagbili. Sobrang ganda sa skil lalo na sa gabi kc smooth na smooth ang face ko at super kintab minsan sa face

11 months ago
Kristian
Top Reviewer
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestizo
  • Age 34

Fountain of youth in a bottle

Just like the other The Ordinary products I have used, I looooove this one! It definitely helped with my texture issues. I feel like it just gives my skin a smoother finish. And it helped diminish some minor fine lines and helped shrink the appearance of my pores with consistent use. I use this every night because my skin isn't sensitive and I've been using retinol products for a long time already that I've built a tolerance towards it. This is anti-aging weapon.

12 months ago
Hera
Certified Buyer
  • Skin Type Oily
  • Skin Tone Fair
  • Facial Features Mestiza
  • Age 29

Working as it should?

I got this item last March 4 and started using it on the same day up until today, March 14. Based on research, a toner should be used first before applying retinol then a moisturizer. Also, one should start on a lower dosage. I didn't do the last part. I jumped on the 1% even though this is my first time to use retinol because I know my face can take it (and luckily, it did). I have oily skin with enlarged pores and I was hoping this will help me, and I think it did. After a week of using this as part of my night time skincare routine, I noticed that my face is less oily, especially the T-zone and my sister commented that my pores are not as prominent as before. Note : This product is oily but it didn't cause me to break out. Sharing my night skincare routine : - Cleanse (The Face Shop Herb Day 365 - Aloe Vera) - Toner (Wildleaf Witch Hazel Rosy Toner) - Retinol (The Ordinary Retinol 1% in Squalane) - Emulsion (The Face Shop Collagen) - Ampoule (The Face Shop Ampoule Sleep Mask) Added a step after receiving the serum I ordered (March 12) : - Cleanse (The Face Shop Herb Day 365 - Aloe Vera) - Toner (Wildleaf Witch Hazel Rosy Toner) - Serum (Dear Klairs Rich Moist Soothing Serum) - Retinol (The Ordinary Retinol 1% in Squalane) - Emulsion (The Face Shop Collagen) - Ampoule (The Face Shop Ampoule Sleep Mask) So far, this combo works for me. Before having retinol in my skincare routine, my face would look "ok" but with big pores that I need to conceal but would still show once my face starts to oil up. Right now, as of writing, the texture of my face feels softer and plump. Improved pores even without makeup

about 1 year ago